Nerdfighters, Unite! Books for John Green Fans

The past year has been a banner one for John Green, author of “The Fault in Our Stars.” Besides having a his latest book-turned-bestseller turned into a screenplay, TFiOS opened the door for new Green fans, helping to make his previous solo works (“Looking for Alaska,” “Paper Towns,” and “An Abundance of Katherines”) New York Times bestsellers. Plus, his fan base (known as “nerdfighters”) topped a million dollars in loans on Kiva.org, an organization that provides assistance to small business in poverty-stricken countries. Now, Green has sold out Carnegie Hall, where the author, his brother (and Vlogbrothers co-host) Hank and The Mountain Goats will entertain a sold out Nerdfighter nation for “An Evening of Awesome.” The show is set to be live-streamed to libraries and bookstores across the U.S. for fans unable to make the show on Jan. 15.

For all of you fellow fans who cried when you read “The Fault in Our Stars” and are still seeking answers from “Looking for Alaska,” we’ve got you covered. Check out these picks for fans of the one Nerdfighter to rule them all, John Green.

See more at Bookish!

“Amelia Anne is Dead and Gone,” by Kat Rosenfield
Green recommended this debut from author Kat Rosenfield on his Tumblr this summer. The story follows recent high school graduate Becca the summer before she leaves for college. This book can sound like a typical contemporary novel, but it picks up when an unidentified woman is found dead on the side of the road in Becca’s small town.

“Every Day,” by David Levithan
It’s no secret that John Green and David Levithan are total author bros. Green popped up in the trailer for this novel about a character named simply A. A is an entity that wakes up inside a different body every day. And though A tries to get by without interfering, a run-in with a girl named Rhiannon changes everything.

“What Happened to Goodbye,” by Sarah Dessen
Sarah Dessen has been a favorite among young adult readers since her 1994 novel “That Summer.” Her most recent effort finds McLean, a teenager who struggles with self-identity issues, dealing with the fallout from her parent’s divorce. When McLean and her dad move to a new home, all bets are off.

“Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares,” by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan
Like Green’s joint venture with Levithan, “Will Grayson, Will Grayson,” this novel is told in alternating chapters as two young, hip New Yorkers accept each other’s challenges to step outside their comfort zone.

“How to Save a Life,” by Sara Zarr
In this dual perspective novel, Jill wrestles with grief over the loss of her father and her mother’s desire to adopt a baby. Mandy discovers she’s pregnant and very quickly realizes that she wants to give her child a better life than she has known. Like Green, Sara Zarr writes realistic characters, and Jill and Mandy will ring true for teens and adults alike.

“Lexapros and Cons,” by Aaron Karo
Those who enjoy Green’s humor will appreciate author Aaron Karo, a writer/comedian who has recently taken his first stab at fiction. Chuck Taylor (yes, the character knows he shares a name with sneakers) suffers from OCD, and as he stares down the final year of his high school career, he will have to face some difficult emotions.

“Why We Broke Up,” by Daniel Handler
Fans of Alaska Young and Margo Roth Spiegleman will dig this novel, told from the perspective of the broken-hearted Min Green, who has just split up with her boyfriend. It’s time for Min to give her ex all of his stuff back, but not without telling him the reasons why they are over. Bonus: the book includes accompanying illustrations from artist Maira Kalman.

See more at Bookish!


This entry was posted in Bookish. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>